terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm So Busy I Have to Post Twice in One Day

Twice in one day. Sorry to be so self-obsessed.


I just got through my annual review.

It stunk.

Not because my performance has been bad, but because it was largely an exercise in futility.

I haven't exactly been denied the large raise I asked for, but it is in the "haven't been able to figure out how to do it yet" category. In the mean time I get a share of the pool of money allocated to the bureau in general. Apparently boss' boss was wondering if I would leave if I didn't get the larger amount. I put my boss' mind to rest; I wouldn't leave because of the money but because I was completely frustrated with the current situation.

So the boss knows I'm looking and in fact suggested a headhunter to me. Is there a message there? No, we both want things to work out. I think he was just fishing for the confession so he had some leverage on my behalf. I hope.

There's still so much that I could do here, but the roadblocks have completely worn me out. The struggle can take care of itself from here on out. I'm going to go home and ... I was going to say put the cat in my lap and stare at the ceiling, but with no a/c and temperatures in the 90's perhaps I will find another alternative.

Ah well, at least I got a fine interview power suit this morning. Between that and my pink baboon butt earrings I should knock the socks off any prospective employers. I can't wait for the knowing looks I will get when I come into the office on Friday in tailored black rather than the usual denims and t-shirt.

2:21 p.m. - 2006-06-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora