terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Algebra Homework as Productive Procrastination

I never thought I'd see the day; I'm busy doing my algebra homework to avoid reading all the financial info sent to me by my new advisor. I thought there was nothing I would not prefer doing to math problems. This includes me bellowing at my TI calculator for doing something it can't help and I can't figure out why, in this case always trying to feed in the previous answer when I enter a negative number at the start of a calculation.

The cats are happy since I've been home most of the day. There was a short break for T'ai Chi Chuan class, but otherwise it has been long naps, laundry, vacuuming and homework. Oh, and a break to watch a couple of the Jeremy Brett Sherlock Holmes mysteries. I'd forgotten how good they were; must order more from Netflix.

I recently watched Le Comte de Monte Cristo on Knitgeek's recommendation. Can't say I was all that thrilled with it; Gerard Deparduieu is a little past the tragic hero role for my taste and a little too fond of ripping open his shirt. He ain't that buff anymore. ;-) Not to say it didn't have its charms, but it was perhaps a bit French for my taste. ;-) Which then made me try to find the old Richard Chamberlain version for comparison, but it isn't on DVD yet. Pity, I seem to remember it as a fairly fine melodrama. And I had to read the book again to remind me of the differences.

Which brings on one of my pet peeves. Just because you've seen the movie doesn't mean you know the book. Like the waiter who told me what a great book I was reading when he saw the cover of Possession, but it came out that he'd only seen the movie. No comparison whatsoever.

7:17 p.m. - 2005-07-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora