terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meditations on Dishware

I look at my nice, neat desk and think over the weekend. The excellent lunch with Keilyn and Ormswyn, blood donations and girl stuff with Arianna on Saturday, a decent movie on Sunday (The Constant Gardiner, quite good). And then I view with distaste everything that sits waiting before me. I hope the career counselor has an appointment open soon. Keilyn recommended someone who sounded excellent, just right for me, but he's got a waiting list. Oh well. One day at a time.


Among the weekend adventures was buying new dishes and flatware. I finally looked at the stuff I had bought 25 years ago and decided that having only 5-1/2 place settings (if no salad is served since there is but one original bowl left) was not appropraite for an established career woman. And there was this 20% off coupon for Bed Bath and Beyond that was set to expire.

Also, I still have nearly every piece of my first flatware set, but it was showing its age and use a bit too much. You get one new thing, it makes everything else look worse. ;-)

Of course the likelihood of me ever serving 8 people at my table is fairly small, but there is the female training thing that says one must be prepared to entertain graciously. Or at least with coordinated dishware.

There is, however, a certain reluctance to part with the old stuff. I bought it when I was in my mid-twenties and just starting out. It was part of my first efforts to be on my own. Its cost relative to my income was far greater. It represented my first efforts to find my own style.

It served me well, and has been with me in more homes than I can remember. Well, now it is packed up once again and I hope some hurricane survivor will find a use for it.


After reading some much about why people evacuated and why people didn't, and living where I do, I have decided it is time to come up with my own emergency evacution plans. Like sorting through my important papers and having the most necessary ones in zip lock bags in a place where I can grab them without waste of time. Like having two cat carriers rather than one. Like having a small supply of food bars and water and cat food that can be put in the car on a minute's notice. Like making a CD of my various account numbers and Quiciken files that can be used to recover my financial accounts. Like sorting through my most valued possessions and determining what can or must be left behind and what would not burden me if I have to flee. Like having an empty, clean gas can in the house so I can fill it should I get the chance of some extra gas while on the road. Gods, I hate thinking like this.

6:20 a.m. - 2005-09-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora