terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 3 in London

First, my feet hurt.

Hampton Court is way cool, but I wish Fin had been there so I could have asked a few questions about the linenfold panels. I also wish KnitGeek and a few others had been there to generally geek about what was good and bad. It did give me a thrill to walk through the Boylen Gate; I've seen it in too many pictures to be blase about it. It is my idea of grandeur.

I came back to London in time to visit the tomb of William Marshal. The Temple Church is quite small, but it is choice. This, too, was a thrill.

I then headed off to the Tower. I was not going to visit it again, but I could get in relatively cheap on a combo ticket for Hampton Court, and history says there was an anchorite at St. Peter's church there.

The kind and well-informed Yeomen told me the current church is largely Tudor, and the period I was looking for was burned down two versions ago. Ah well, at least I asked them a question they'd never heard before. And the cat, Teufel, is still resident at the church and tormenting the keepers' terriers.

I also visited another church nearby the Tower and had a lovely chat with the vicar about where to find anchorite stuff in London. The answer is almost nowhere, so I must go further afield. Tomorrow shall be the trip out to Kings Lynn and All Saints. I hope the church is open.

It is time to grab some grub to go and head back to the hotel for a rest. The jet lag is killing me this trip. I'm getting too old to travel well. But it is worth it in the end I'm sure.

4:39 p.m. - 2006-01-12
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora