terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

London, What Day is This?

Add Salisbury to the list of excellent day trips from London. It was a pity the Medieval Hall was closed, but the town and cathedral alone are worth the visit. I very nearly took the bus out to Stonehenge, but the weather is deteriorating, and I wasn't sure how I'd like it in the rain.

I spent much of the cathedral visit in the company of an off-duty guide who was so impressed by my knowledge of English history that she gave me a special look at some of the Tudor-related stuff. Kind of fun, and she was a nice little old lady.

Yep, there are definite benefits in off season travel.

Anyway, I returned to London and decided to really play tourist and head out to visit Knightsbridge and Harrods in hopes of finding a small gift for Mum.

Never, ever, again.

I didn't know London held that many people, much less one department store. It was awful. Worse, there were tube problems and the closest station was closed, and I couldn't find the entrance to the one open entry to the next closest station (as was true of other muttering people) and finally walked down to the Gloucester Road station.

The feet would be beyond agony if I had any energy left to pay much attention to pain. I've managed to get some sleep at night, but only in stretches of two hours max. I look like I have two black eyes, the circles are so dark.

I want my own bed, my own huge soak-in bathtub and most of all I want my cats to cuddle. I am now officially a stay-at-home-curmudgeon and hereby swear off extensive travel. Right.

Tomorrow is the last day for touring. What will it be? Back out to Salisbury for the henge viewing, or maybe up to Cambridge? I shall have to have a chat with my guide book tonight. Truthfully, I'd rather head home, but on last year's trip to Florence I nearly made the mistake of coming home too soon and know I would have regretted it. Worse comes to worst, I'll stay in town and visit the V&A or some such.

BTW, having rail passes for the tube and the greater London area is a Very Good Thing (TM). They've made my life so much easier.

Oh, and Kings Cross has a sign on a bricked in archway between platforms 9 and 10 for 9 3/4. Beneath it is a luggage trolley apparently halfway through. How, uh, cute. Alright, I smiled knowingly.

4:34 p.m. - 2006-01-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora