terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On The Way Back

I am sitting in Heathrow, having gotten here a bit earlier than I expected, and will be here a bit longer than I want since the flight's departure is a bit delayed. I'll live, but it means getting back to Dulles right around rush hour. Ugh. At least it is a Federal holiday; it may help.

One of the things I noticed a lot on my trip is how many literary and musical references occured to me. I walked around a corner in the Abbey and saw the tomb of Henry V, and wanted to sing the Agincourt Carol. I saw Banbury on the tube map and wanted to go Banburying a la Oscar Wilde. The sight of Hounslow on a map made me think of Holmes and Watson in pursuit of a clue. I wanted to sing "tailors ye be blowed" when I walked on to Brompton Row. And the words of Mr. Bingley, "they would just as agreeable to me had they uncles enough to fill all Cheapside," came back to me often. Every church made me want to trot out a few bars of Non Nobis or some such, just to test to acoustics.

I shall miss this. But I shall be very glad to see my home and friends again.

9:17 a.m. - 2006-01-16
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora