terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Omnium Gatherum

I rather wonder why President Bush will bother giving the State of the Union address tonight. He's been stomping about the country setting up the themes, his press secretary has said what he will talk about and every news services there is has previewed the content. How can any real importance be attached to the actual event?

Oh, I forgot. The big deal is to see who is invited to sit and watch with Mrs. Bush.


I'm tired. Someone called at 2:00 a.m. A wrong number, thankfully. Right numbers at that hour can never be good. But the adreneline rush kept me awake for a while. I'm trying to remember the last time I simply slept through a night. I can't.


I'm feeling a trifle nostalgic. The year of my 50th birthday is ending today. In spite of my worries about Mom's health, on the whole it was quite a good year.

I'm not so sure about 51. It remains to be seen what comes and what I make of it. I confess I'm uninspired by my current plans and projects, but since no strategy survives its encounter with the enemy, that too may change.

Interestingly, I'm getting birthday cards from places like my car dealership and insurance company. Another "personal" touch in the age of computers. It is vaguely distrubing to me. Why do I care if they remember my birthday? There's no there there in terms of an actual person who knows me. Am I supposed to be touched? Grateful? Believe that is really matters? Who could possibly be fooled by this kind of artificial attention? I deal with these places because they provide professional service, not friendship. Oh well. I suppose I should be glad that at least they are trying to extend a courtesy. There's little enough of that in the world anymore.


I finally got around to renting the first DVD of the season of Lost. I can't say I'm anywhere near as hooked as I was to some other shows, but it as potential. I'll at least give DVD two a look.

7:19 a.m. - 2006-01-31
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora