terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doves in the Attic

Doves live in the attic space above my condo. At times I find the cooing rather pleasant when I am working up here in Dog's Nest, but then my practical side wonders if I really want to live under an impromptu dovecote. Birds are rather dirty.

Doves in the attic. Better than bats in the belfry, I suppose.


The cats are at it again. Paddywhack has finally started making assaults on the loft, and Mow Mow is doing her best to repel the invader. So far Madame Mao is winning, but since all the distress seems to be on her side, I have a feeling that she won't be able to long maintain the safe heights.


I think I have finally caught the dreaded cold that has been making the rounds. The snuffles seem to be setting in and I've broken out in the requisite fever blister. At least I had plans to stick close to home this weekend. I was going to see Mom but the weather is not promising for a major road trip. Hope I'm better by Tuesday or the dentist is going to have to be grossed out. Wish I had thought to pick up some GripX while in England. 'Tis a fine cold medicine.


I was thinking over my to-do list, that ever changing guide to my daily existence, and realized two of the most annoying problems are gone. Ormswyn has set my computer for double montitors (a decided advantage when working from home) and the electricians have fixed the power outage. I dunno. I guess I just like at least the framework of life to function well. It is about the only place where I can exert real control.


Speaking of control, my boss has passed on my request for a raise. His boss did not outright say no, which is a start, and my boss has said I should send on a note with my justifications. Apparently boss's boss interpreted the request as a sign of discontent that was baffling after my positive attitude during my New York visit. Sigh. I am discontent, but I wouldn't have thought that a request for a raise should immediately be seen as such. I wonder if such is usually a power play before someone quits? Oh, wait. Isn't that what I've been contemplating? Reality check.

My boss says it is going to be a long slog to get this and it probably won't be attended to until the company-wide pay issues are determined in May. And that I should send up notes about every two weeks so they don't forget. I think if they don't act in fairly short order, it is the same as saying no. We'll see.

6:51 a.m. - 2006-02-11
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora