terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Almost Agree with the Bush Administration, For Once

For once I find myself in agreement with the Bush administration, if only sort of. Hades has aquired a slight coating of frost.

Why the sudden outcry about outsourcing the operations of U.S. ports? It has been made clear that this had nothing to do with security. If the company, formerly British owned, now with a Dubai parent, is competent, why make such a fuss?

Now, I happen to think that this sort of thing should be domestically handled, but if it is one of the multitude of things our wise and thrifty government has determined is a better use of our tax dollars, then what possible difference can several layers of global management make? It is not like we are hiring Hamas to do the work.

I've heard complaints that terrorist money has gone through Dubai banks. I got news for these idiots. Terrorist money has gone through British and U.S. banks too. Perhaps we should outsource all our services to the pure. Maybe New Zealand?

The administration could have handled this announcement (and many others) better. But the resultant hysteria is both knee-jerk stupid and not helpful to our image, either domestically or abroad. My battle cry shall be "Grow Up and Think it Through!"


I've been scanning the Olympics again. The commercial content seems a trifle lessened now that the marquee events have started. However, I find myself nearly as revolted by the skaters' outfits as any amount of advertisment.

I like skating and admire the athleticsm. But somehow taste seems to have taken a particularly long vacation going into the games. Yuck! The lack of class is almost universal. Points to Kimmie for avoiding the worst of the excesses.

2:56 p.m. - 2006-02-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora