terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time as an Ideal?

I'm reading a book on quantum physics and dreams. The author talks about Hilbert space. "This space is not necessarily a physical space, it is a space of ideals, concepts that are yet to be realized and thus potentially available but not actually present," he explains.

The notion that time "does not separate past from future, but does separate ideal from ideal" is kind of amazing.

There's also stuff about how now is in some respect created by a future then which loops back on itself.

I don't know if this is all new age crap or has any basis in science. It is all so far out there I don't have a frame of reference for understanding. Yet I'm enjoying having my premises challenged. If you never take a deeper look at what you believe and why, how are you ever to grow intellectually?


My latest chapter in statistics is using the distribution of IQ in the population as a sample problem.

If the statistics are to be believed, something like 80% of the population is below 120 (above average) and 50% at or below 100 (average or less).

What I want to know is where are all these less than brilliant people? If I go by my acquaintance, I just can't imagine many people who are at or below average. Do I live in a rarified social cul-de-sac? I know my IQ score, so I have a good idea of my brains relative to my friends', and on the whole I'm average in comparison.

Damn, I must be lucky. Or else there really isn't much difference between average and genius. ;-)

6:49 a.m. - 2006-02-23
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora