terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Mule Within

Ah resentment. It makes me break out in ugly facial expressions of stubborness and desire to mulishly drag my feet to punish the offending parties.

Today I foolishly sent out an update of what I have recently accomplished on my data project. I got back an e-mail asking me the status of a tangental issue. I am trying to respond to my boss' boss with a modicum of cooperativeness rather than a childish and unhelpful "I don't know. Why don't you ask someone to whom you will actually listen or whose responsibility this actually is?" I am even more resentful, of course, because there are a few things I have let slip which are my responsibility under the burden of good excuses of busyness. I hate feeling all righteous when I really don't have more than one leg on which to stand. ;-)

I must swallow my spite and get back on track here.


The latest ED drug is getting heavily advertised to men whose love life is not what it might be due to high cholesterol, diabetes or heart problems. You know, I have to wonder if perhaps the target audience shouldn't be paying a bit more attention to the underlying causes rather than about whether they can get it up. You won't die because you're limp, you may if you don't take care of yourself. Is there really such a plague of impotent men in the world that we need yet another ED treatment? Yeesh. What about a new antibiotic or vaccine or something?


I keep thinking about how what we identify with shapes who we are and how we interact with the world.

I think we need to have a sort of external super-ego that helps us to have a standard to live up to or an authority to which to bow when we know we are out of control or in the wrong. The rule of the self just isn't a very healthy or productive one.

I guess it is the ending of the Olympics when sports identification seems to rule so many people. The constant experssions of disappointment in the wake of the hyped athletes' failures tends to obscure what is in fact magnificent about human achievement. That anyone can compete at that level is to me amazing, win or not. That anyone can conduct themselves with anything like dignity or sincerity is perhaps more so.

12:36 p.m. - 2006-02-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora