terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old and Jaded Arts Geek

I just erased a very long entry about the Atlantian State Fair and what I think about arts in the SCA now.

Suffice it that there was enough good stuff on display that I ran out of tokens, that I have a letter to write to the Laurel list about some people who I think should be noticed and perhaps polled for, that some conversations with Eldred, Knitgeek, Fin and Keilyn have got me thinking about What It All Means.

I am discontent that we should have ossified to the point we have about the arts and how they are practiced, yet I cannot say nothing is achieved because the general level of knowledge and execution has improved over the years and I am jealous at how far behind some of my skills have lagged.

But the new? Where is the new? Surely there is room and curiousity and inspiration out there somewhere? It is all well and good to build on established arts, but I want my eyes opened and brain challenged.

And yet I have to take that back to some extent because of things like the sauces display that where if the recipes have been previously visited, the documentation provided some statistical information about what spices were used how often. Kewl. That's geekdom I can admire heartily.

I guess I'm just old and jaded.

6:25 a.m. - 2006-03-05
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora