terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Pyrrhic Victory

The Pyrrhic victory provides very little satisfaction beyond the knowledge that I was right.

My troublemaking earlier this week has yielded results. The CEO finally stepped in and said that, yes, the product should cease publication. This after many others were saying, no, we should hang on in spite of the deficiencies and lack of revenue because it was all we have.

I had already reconciled myself to some more months of futility in that regard.

Now my main worry is dealing with the resentment of the principals in the both camps. They are not minor players. The opposing camp will dislike me for killing the product. The allied camp will dislike me for rocking the boat and forcing the issue.

So I have to take what can be salvaged from the product and turn it into something better and prove the concept was right and the execution was the flawed.

At least it is progress of a sort. And somehow I'm both more and less hopeful. My supportors will be few, yet my heart is pure and committed. Or is it that I should be committed? I comfort myself that every organization needs an occasional gadfly to keep them from complaisance. What is the quote? "One more such victory and I am lost," attributed to Pyrrhus of Epirus.

Ah well, on to the next round of writing product recommendations. This isn't going to win me any friends either, but must be done. Perhaps being liked in the workplace is overrated.

7:54 a.m. - 2006-03-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora