terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Art Is Not Pretty

Art is not pretty. It may be sublime, but it rarely is beautiful for beauty's sake. It will demand things of an artist that the artist cannot achieve, but even the most skillful rarely creates anything that fully reflects the internal vision.

I once fancied myself a poet. Not a particularly good one, but above average and capable of turning out a neatly phrased line or two. I could always feel the words out there, but they rarely made the transition from mind to the page. Still, there's a thing inside that wakes up from time-to-time and tells me I have something to say.

It sometimes goes to sleep for long periods. It must be six years since I wrote anything that came from the unconcious. Most of what little I've done has been of the mind, not the muse.

I've been fretting over my mother's illness and the whole business of losing those you love. The funeral last week finally forced a few lines that have been swimming around in the back of my brain into my consciousness.

It isn't brilliant, and it isn't in proper Italian sonnet form, but at least it is, and that is more than I've had artistically for quite a while.

The Departed Guest

In tears and smiles I bid the guest farewell

Even as I once greeted his arrival.

The new wine that was the welcoming sup

Is now ancient dregs in the stirrup cup.

How the hours passed I cannot tell;

Beguiled I could scarce attend the knell

That warned all is but a fleeting fillip

Until necessity bids us rise up.

Many a guest has crossed my life's threshold

And blessed my time with gracious company

Whose wit and love would honor nobler hearts.

Alas, I must wrap joy in linen fold,

A cloak to shield their recondite journey,

Then follow in my turn to unknown parts.

� Terrshee

7:59 a.m. - 2006-04-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora