terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Muddling on Immigration

Today's subject: the illegal immigration debate.

It was brought home to me this morning on the commute. Because I come in early, I get to ride the train with lots of apprently Latino construction workers. Many of them sprawl on the platforms and seats, and sleep. Of course, many other ethnic groups do as well, but it is particularly visible at that time of day.

Then there are the two guys who sleep in the ATM lobby of one of the banks I pass on the way to the office. I'm not sure they are homeless. I'm guessing just found a warm, dry place to nap before going to what is probably a second or third job.

What they probably are is hardworking men trying to make a living on substandard wages and send something home to the family whereever they are from. I've seen poverty in a Central American country. It is a very real desperation that drives these people to come here illegally.

It doesn't change that it is a crime they are committing, and they know it, but it is rather like the New Orleans "looters" who broke into stores for food and water. They are driven by need, not greed.

But what my well-fed complacency sees is a bunch of poorly educated intruders who ignore the social rules and bring with them demands upon an already strained social system. I suspect they seem themselves as heroic adventurers who strike out in an unknown country to find a better life.

I've been listening to the arguments of various business leaders who say that having a big pool of low wage workers is a good thing because it supports my service hungry lifestyle and allow them to make money.

What I wonder is how it is ethical to pay immigrant workers (legal or not) lousy wages because they are vulnerable and can't demand better? Why is it good to subsidize the lifestyle of the better off with the underpaid labor of those who lack education and other opportunities? I'm not a communist. I just wonder how a free market society can be all fat and happy while exploting people. Shouldn't we pay a fair price for resources?

Enough.

8:05 a.m. - 2006-04-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora