terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring is a Hard Taskmaster

Spring is a hard taskmaster. Even those of us without yards can feel the urge to clean up winter's debris and plant a few growing things.

Last year I had a couple of hanging plants out on the balcony, but it wasn't satisfactory. They weren't very hardy (a necessity for plants in my care) and they just weren't to my taste. I missed my rocks and mulch and wee trees from the prior place. I had a small Japanese red maple from a seedling at my mother's old home and a split leaf maple that I had managed not to kill for serveral years.

Yesterday I was overwhelmed with the urge to plant and headed out to the local garden center to try to figure out what I can do here.

I found a woebegone Japanese red maple that was small and in need of love.

I have decided that Charlie Brown bonsai may be the way to go. I need to find some undersized trees that could use a little care and clipping and that would greatly improve if only they were given a decent looking pot, but which also would not be a huge loss if my black thumb did them in.

Red certainly seemed happier after I stripped off the dead leaves and gave him something to wear other than nasty cheap black plastic. I wonder how he will feel about braces when I start trying to shape his growth?

I also cleaned off the balcony, as in applying multiple installments of water from a bucket and wiping with old towels. I cleaned the walls (which were truly gross with dirt and pollen), vacuumed up the floor and dusted off the furniture from the winter. The outer windows also received a choking dose of Windex.

I must say I'm pleased with the result. 'Tis almost the season for sitting out there and reading and drinking tea on a Sunday morning. Alas, the new thermometer tells my it is 40 degrees F this morning; just a bit chill for that (non)exercise.

6:21 a.m. - 2006-04-30
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora