terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Archer Returns

I guess I'm serious about going to Pennsic; I just ordered a new bow. I checked out the old one and the limb twist that had been creeping in over the years had definitely not improved while it sat in storage the past few years. However, I did like to well enough that I simply ordered a new version of the same Martin model. I adhere to the tried and true.

Next I must pull out all the arrows and make sure the feathers and points are up to staying attached. Repairs will require a meeting with my enemy, Super Glue. I always screw up with that stuff, whether it is undergluing or getting it all over items that aren't meant to be attached.

Anyway, I was never a great archer, although I achieved a certain skill when I practiced regularly. Duh. Do you think one has anything to do with the other?

I just wonder now if my hands and elbow are going to hold up. Neither are what they used to be, and they weren't much before. And I don't believe I've done any archery since I had the Lasik done. How is my focus these days? Guess I'll find out. I hope my eye doctor still has the long distance driving prescription he wrote out for me last year. I may have to get a pair of cheapo sports glasses.

I doubt I shall ever again have a proud moment like I did at Pennsic some eight or ten years ago. I went to shoot the warpoint when very few people were on the line. After the clout shoot (but before the scoring) the marshall cried "Well done, Mistress!" in such a glowing tone that I nearly blushed. It wasn't the points, it was the form that mattered. I guess I'm one of the fools that values the win less than the game well played. Antiquated, ain't I?

9:34 a.m. - 2006-05-02
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora