terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm A Hat Person

I suddenly realized I am such a hat person. I found myself regretting I wasn't going to take the graduation ceremony walk because I wouldn't get to wear a mortarboard. Silly, no?

Otherwise I am strangely indifferent to achieving a second bachelors degree. I'm sure I'll be more excited when I know that I'm truly done. In the mean time, I'll work on realizing that this is in fact an accomplishment and deserves a little celebration.


I'm reading a book called The Perfect Red which is about the discovery and commerce in New World cochineal from the 16th century on. It is really rather interesting, not that I care so much about the dye as I find the descriptions of business practices quite illuminating.

Anyway, I would have thought that using insect husks to color cloth and food was pretty much a thing of the past and now reserved for specialty crafts, but Lo! in yesterday's Washington Post there was an article about possibly banning cochineal as a commercial food dye. Kinda neat to think that not all that is old is obsolete.

8:59 a.m. - 2006-05-10
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora