terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sounding Off, Maybe Tunefully

On Saturday I get to find out how deluded I am, at least for one part of my life.

Although it is not yet certain, I will probably be on a panel about traditional ballads next fall with a couple of singers. I am not a singer. Not by a long shot.

I don't have a bad voice per se, I think, but I can't hold a key by myself, and my voice tires after two songs. It is more that a little unhappy making as I actually like to sing. So I have decided before that time I will attempt to acquire a bucket in which to place the tune.

I have found a voice teacher for the summer. If she'll have me. On Saturday we do an evaluation before actually agreeing to an arrangement. Suddenly I'm rather nervous.

I did take a few informal voice lessons from a friend a few years ago. Heidi in fact was a professional singer and qualified to teach me. She did have a little success, but like so many informal arrangements, it kind of fell apart after a month or two. But I am not in despair that something can be accomplished. I still treasure the one session where she said, "I'd pay to hear that voice." It was small and fragile, but it was there. If only for a moment.

3:20 p.m. - 2006-05-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora