terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is \"Ask Me\" Tatooed on My Forehead?

It happened again. I was walking to the local Metro stop when the guy driving the tourist rickshaw asked me where Ford's theater was (it was two blocks away). C'mon. The tour guide has to ask directions? And why me of the 10 people standing on the corner? I don't think "ASK ME" is tatooed on my forehead. Perhaps it is in an ink that is outside my visual spectrum? Perhaps it is simply my aura of knowing everything.


Madame Mao is finally settling down in the absence of Paddywhack. She's being much less fretful. It is a good thing the return of the Evil Grey Tabby is not on the horizon.

Paddy has apparently settled in nicely and promptly won my mother's heart. She's getting spoiled and Mom has that special catch in her voice when she talks about the cat sleeping next to her, etc. I am so glad. Mom just sounds generally less tense and distracted. It is amazing what a little furry presence can do for comfort. Unless you have allergies.

Which reminds me. I never got the results of my allergy tests. Must call the excellent nurse practitioner soon. Although I think the mattress and pillow condoms have been helping.


Being on the third floor has its advantages. I have avoided the flooding nicely, but it still sucks to have no A/C because it is just damp, damp, damp everywhere. I hate it when the towels don't completely dry from the prior morning's shower.

Ah well, at least I am avoiding some of the impact from higher electricity rates this month. But I'd rather be comfy and broke than in funds and grumpy.


And surprise, surprise, I have gotten permission to attend a 5-day XML training session on company funds in the last week of July. The problem is I don't know if I should register or not. I haven't heard if I am in the second round of interviews yet or not, and feel it would be a trifle unethical to spend the company's money when I'm not going to be here to give them the benefit of my new found knowledge.

Eh, I'll wait until after the holiday and then do it if I have heard nothing. A week should be enough to know if I made the cut.


I am much looking forward to this weekend. I've taken a vacation day Monday, so will have four days off. Now that's luxury.

9:31 a.m. - 2006-06-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora