terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Planning for August

This weekend has been pretty low key, and on the whole relaxing. Perhaps the greatest pleasure so far has been being reminded about my travel plans for August.

How good it will be to spend a little time with friends rarely seen and also to fulfill a life goal.

Many years ago I was caught by an article about a tiny exhibit at the National Gallary of Art featuring a portrait by Thomas Eakins of the early ethnologist Frank Hamilton Cushing. (I dragged Knitgeek to see it, a woman of infinite patience and understanding for the foibles and follies of friends.)

The picture struck me on many levels; the man was a pioneer in the best sense. He went out to the West to try to capture something of the native peoples at a time when their cultures were being actively destroyed, and succeeded in finding a place among them.

In some ways he remained an outsider, and even a little ridiculous in adopting native "costume" and proud displays of the honor he'd won, even though some of them may have been inventions of the Zuni.

Yet he loved the Zuni and did his best to help them in their quarrels with Washington (and often succeeded) and they remember him to this day.

Anyway, I took a fancy to the story, dug up books by Cushing (which still stand up for scholarship), and decided I must see the location someday.

In August I will.

My life ambitions are small, but they are mine.


Today I will do an essential pre-Pennsic task. The car goes into the shop at 7:00 a.m. for an oil change and general look at brakes, belts, hoses, fluids, shocks, etc. I've heard and seen the results of too many horror stories of people who had expensive breakdowns on the way there or back from the simplest problems that could have been avoided.

Then again, there are always the ones that can't be anticipated. But I'm way too A-R, so I sweat the small stuff. I was a lousy Girl Scout, but this I can do to be prepared.

5:52 a.m. - 2006-07-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora