terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Domesticity, of the loner variety. What can be better?

In spite of my good intentions to go to the SCA event, I mostly ran errands and rearranged the condo.

Bliss.

The new sitting/sewing room is looking good, and the guest bedroom is not all that far from being able to receive visitors.

Plants are repotted and I've added Moose the Alberta spruce to join Red and Master Yew.

These things tend to cascade in House O'Siodhachain, and some serious closet reorg might happen, except that without a/c I am disinclined to do more manual labor than I might be otherwise.


Speaking of disinclined, I saw POTC: Dead Man's Chest yesterday.

Potential spoiler follows.

I did not realize just how lame it was compared to the first one until the very last scene when I understood how much it lacked simply because Geoffry Rush wasn't there.

It barrels along and keeps your attention, but does it ever really amuse?

And while I give Mr. Depp every credit for creating an unforgetable character in the woozy captain, I know him now, so surprises are fewer. And while I like Bill Nighy quite a lot, he's so buried under CG and makeup that little enough of his talent can leak through. Davy Jones just isn't as interesting as Barbossa.

The subplots are subpar. They set up some potentially interesting stuff, but used it outside of character. Not good. But then, since the main plot is so lacking, how could the secondary stuff shine?

Nope, it is mostly a show that only the badly costumed "pirates" who came to celebrate the movie could love. At least they were nominally well behaved once the movie started and someone told them to shut up. I suppose we'll see all of them again at the Ren Fest later this summer.

Oh, and don't bother staying for the 5 seconds of extra footage after the credits. Cute, but hardly worth it.

7:24 a.m. - 2006-07-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora