terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mulling the Pettiness of My Prosperity

I've had a rather sharp exchange of views with my boss.

Yesterday I had mistakenly thought I had gotten a little better raise than everyone else, and thanked him, but he said I hadn't, so I reran the numbers, and no I hadn't. I got exactly the same as everyone else. (And even simple math continues to evade my skillset. How did I pass College algebra?)

I mentioned to him that this struck me as a disincentive to do anything extra since I would be compensated the same no matter how much initiative I took.

He feels that since everyone did a good job last year that no one should have to get less than anyone else. He wants to be fair. And that I should value the other, intangible rewards of my work. I didn't reply with my instinctive, "and these would be?"

Now, I shan't starve and the cat won't be on the street selling matches in the winter cold. It was a tolerable raise all things considered.

But I keep coming back to why I should bother to do better when no one else does. Life ain't fair and why should I take up the slack for the unmotivate?

And the echo is, "life ain't fair, so what else is new, and what are you going to do about it?"

10:46 a.m. - 2006-07-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora