terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Have Been Summoned

I have been summoned to jury duty.

Yipee. Not.

In priciple doing my civic duty inspires pride in me and willingness to serve.

In practice, this is about the fourth or fifth time I've been called. It largely amounts to much waiting and tedium and being asked for a simple answer on questions that are complex about one's attitude to things like being robbed at gunpoint and if it prejudices you and if so, can you set aside those feelings? I've been robbed at gunpoint, and yes, it does prejudice me in spite of what I think of myself as a rational person, and how would I know until confronted with the criminal and the crime? But they want yes/no responses.

I've served on a jury, and it was a nasty, nasty case involving various types of assault, threats and kidnapping. It only makes me squirm inside to recall it. I can deal with people doing ugly and stupid things, but intentionally vicious? Nope.

And my favorite item from the form I have to return? Under the heading of "Disqualifed" is the category "I am unable to read, write, speak or understand the English language." Now how is someone completely illiterate and unable to comprehend English going to get on this list anyway? Isn't is supposed to be registered voters?

3:47 p.m. - 2006-07-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora