terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Twas a Pleasant Day

In terms of literal success, yesterday only accomplished one of the the three things for which I went to the event, but on the whole that one that happened made up for a lot.

I was going to see the Laurel ceremony of someone I respect greatly, but the heat and lateness of the court was such that I bailed earlyish. I just don't have the stamina right now after weeks of poor sleep.

I was going to do some archery and get my new bow sighted in, but the archery range was small and largely in the woods, so could not do the 20-30-40 yard test. But the aforementioned heat left me reluctant anyway.

I was going to see Sir V. reauthorize after a 10 year absence from the heavy lists, and this I did do. Apparently there's something of a renaissance going on of older fighters returning to the field. This pleases me, because it means that I'm not all that old. Although it did occur to me that I am now the age that the first generation of SCAdians were when I joined. Shudder. And I thought they were old and venerable.

Anyway, Mistress F. had brought a day shade and harp, and Sir V. had a harp as well. So I got to lay out of the sun and listen to sweet music for a couple of hours, and even sing once or twice with their gentle tolerance. We all agree we know so few people anymore. We reminisced about the past (and I got over a brief urge to take up spear again).

'Twas a pleasant day.

7:34 a.m. - 2006-07-23
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora