terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Car, She is Packed

The car, she is packed. Which I guess means that I am. Now am I ready to go?
Can I leave behind my games and newly expanded cable lineup? Reruns of Law & Order have already started to suck me in and this is only the first afternoon. But I had to have the SciFi channel before Battlestar Galactica started again.

I think I've remembered everything. No doubt I shall lie awake half the night wondering what I've forgotten. However, experience tells me that it is rare to leave out anything actually critical. Usually I bring entirely too much stuff that comes home to be washed unused.

The plan at the moment is to wake up early and hit the road, have breakfast at Breezewood, and try to make the campsite before lunch. If you want to try to meet up for scrapple 'n eggs en route, give me a call on the cell. ;-)

And the cat will have to deal without cat nip for the next three days.


A bit of weirdness yesterday. I was doing the Value City shoe run (can get some designer shoes cheap there). While I'm in the checkout line some women got nabbed for shoplifting. She says nothing, her daughter starts screaming and immediately calls someone on her cell phone, and the very large security person deals with it all pretty calmly.

It just left me with a lot of questions. Like why would anyone steal anything when in the past 20 mintues or so there have been PA announcements for security to scan certain departments? Was the daughter complicit and trying to distract the guard? Or was she horrified? What can it do to a teenager to see a parent arrested in public? Was this the first time? Were they poor or just thieves?

Anyway, not something you see everyday and a reminder of the real world outside my cosy and prosperous little bubble.

5:08 p.m. - 2006-08-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora