terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's Lesson

This seems to be a summer of annoyance.

By purest chance I got an excise tax bill from a town I used to live in in Massachusetts.

They want five years of back taxes plus interest and penalties on a car I sold four years ago.

I thought I'd cleared this up after I moved. Back then I sent them proof the car was no longer registered in that town. I thought that was the end of it.

I only responded to the current bill to try to clear it up and be responsible and all that.

Nope.

The very polite town clerk wants me to prove it all over again, and won't accept secondary evidence. Not paying state taxes and failing to renew the car registration in state doesn't count. Since I don't own the car, I can't show proof it isn't in Massachussets anymore.

It is utterly ridiculous.

The lesson: turn in your plates if you move out of state. I'm informed I better never move back to Massachusetts 'cause the tax bill is only going to grow and be waiting.

2:15 p.m. - 2006-08-16
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora