terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back and Blue

I'm back and I'm blue; this was not a happy trip.

Although my father is recovering well, and now able to be on his own, I hated to leave him.

There are 40 kilometers of third world mostly unpaved road between him and the the first real road to civilization. It is the rainy season. To say the road sucks is an understatement. In additon to the usual hazards of insame motorists, bicyclists, pedestrians, cows, pigs, chickens, dogs and what not, it is slippery with mud and abundantly supplied with axle-breaking holes. Think a washboard that's been sitting out back rusting for 10 years. Don't get me started on the bridges in "mal estada."

From the main road it is another 300 kilometers to get to the capital where his doctors are.

I've have rarely felt so isolated and vulnerable.

I know why he chose to live there, and he's been relatively happy. But this is not a good place for anyone in precarious health or the least bit frail. Ambulance service is at best haphazard and the police don't make it out that far very often, except the drug enforcement ones who concentrate on the stupid gringos who come to town to party unhampered.

At least he is now preparing to sell the farm and move in closer to the capital. He's even had an offer for the property, so it may be soon.

My sister is grieving because she loves the place and finds it nurturing.

I find it incredibly wearing.

I have been gone for just over 8 days and I'm exhausted, bug bitten, dealing with abused food allergies, and generally resentful of having to pick up again on short notice.

More than compensating for this was my father's sincere and tender gratitude for my sacrifice and attention.

Details later.


Here's one I don't want to forget to share.

Along the above mentioned road there is a car owned by a local which has a "IRGINIA TEC" bumper sticker. I can't help wonder if it came with the car or it is some ex-patriot fan.

9:24 a.m. - 2006-08-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora