terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I went to bed last night in a fairly optimistic mood. Knitgeek and Fin shared their farewell-to-summer dinner with me. As usual, it was an evening of fine conversation in addition to a very tasty meal. There's very little better in the world than tender dead cow cooked over flames.

I took home a few resolutions to do better by the SCA in the coming months by actually showing up at a few events, and get my job search back on track while giving better attention to my work (school and office). I have plenty of time which I have been poorly manging over the summer (no a/c was a wonderful excuse).

I woke up only moderately enervated by the idea of coming back to work. I did the usual morning routines, including buying a newspaper.

Big mistake.

There were a bunch 'o obituaries for people my age. People who have done something with their lives (yes, I know I have, but not always what I would or should). It is disturbing and unbalancing.

Then the check of e-mail says that someone who used to be a friend has had a recurrence of cancer, outlook uncertain at the moment. I'd cut him off a while back (just before his first diagnosis, guilt, guilt), but find I wish I could say something sympathic, but now don't have the right. He's a decent man and I'm sorry for what has happened to him.

Ah well. There's nothing to be done except what is in front of me. One day at a time, on thing at a time.

6:47 a.m. - 2006-09-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora