terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ear Infection. Ow.

I have an ear infection. It hurts worse today than yesterday in spite of the medication because the nurse practitioner had to move some earwax in order to get a look at my eardrum. Ow. Something got scratched (not the eardrum), so a little extra healing is needed.

The infection is not only painful, but apparently at great risk of repetition because I use earplugs at work to try to drown out some of the ambient noise.

I try to be discreet because I know I work in a bloodly newsroom and noise is part of the, ah, charms of working in this business. People need the noise in order to acquire information, apparently. I don't buy it, but then I'm not that curious about the inconsequential going on around me. It is a failing, I know.

Anyway, I have now opted to buy a pair of noise cancelling headphones. Less discretion, better otic health. I may even try to expense the buggers. Does being hypersensitive qualify under the ADA?

Somehow I feel my dislilke of the noise is an inherent criticsm of my coworkers, but in truth I doubt they much care or will notice.


What did we do before antibiotics? How did people ever recover from the myriad of illnesses that beset humankind?

The answer being they often didn't, or when they did, came out damaged.

I spite of my low opinion of the pharmaceutical industry, I shall send a little thanks to whomever developed the various 'cilins that have intervened for me.

7:56 a.m. - 2006-10-25
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora