terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why Speaking on Live TV is a Bad Idea

I am so glad I do not do live news; a CNN reporter has just embarrassed herself by declaring that "the ongoing canvass of votes is still going on." Now there's a portentous announcement.


My first discovery about my iPod clone is that these things eat batteries pretty quickly. It looks like one is good for about 8 hours. I'll need to start using the rechargables soon; this is entirely too wasteful.

My second discovery is that playing Baroque instrumentals in the background helps some, but not really enough, in masking the annoying cacaphony of work. It is also a tad distracting. I'm just one of those people who need real quiet to concentrate. Well, it ain't gonna happen here.


I had been hoping for a quiet day in the office tomorrow as it is officially a government holiday, but no such luck. There's a full calendar. At least CNN on the TV woman won't be here and maybe I can leave that piece o' noisy stupidity off.

And it being Friday, I have a fresh episode of Battlestar Galactica to which to look forward. So far this season is very, very good. However, I get the impression they are trying to round off the story in anticipation of not being renewed next year. Pity, but I'd rather that than being left hanging the way Firefly was.


All victories are Pyrric, at least to some extent. Listening to the Prez this morning reminded me that he's far from done in trying to get his own way, and that grace in defeat isn't exactly his strong suit. Nothing has really changed; even when the Repubs had a majority they were stymied and stalled.

12:06 p.m. - 2006-11-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora