terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Hate Sears. Again. Still. Forever.

The straws that have been piling up on my back received another addition yesterday.

I got home from work and there's a letter from Sears saying they are going to defend against my small claims suit. They say I sent the complaint to the wrong address and that it is all my fault they didn't hear about it sooner, and they weren't going to admit or deny any responsibility because I rudely denied them time to review the matter.

A pox upon them.

I had really, really hoped to have this settled by now, but I guess having a court date in hand for the end fo the month is better than no deadline in sight. But it means another vacation day wasted on this nonsense. OTOH, it means another legitimate excuse to be out of the office. One sups upon crumbs of comfort when one is starving.

Now I have to figure out if I need an attorney and if I can bear the expense. At least I can get a free consult with the Inn of St. Ivo (the Atlantian University law school of which I am an honorary member only because I badgered them into teaching when I was chancellor and they decided they kind of liked it after all).

Pooh. And pooh again.

All I want is my A/C fixed, a new Forester, to transition off my antidepressants succesfully and a new job. Is that too much to ask? OK, yes it is.


I watched the latest installment of the Prime Suspect series last night. I've always liked the gritty, smart and vulnerable Jane Tennyson and just how intensely real the series feels.

Her current struggle with alcohol is particularly gripping, at least for me.

It is so easy to let life get out of control, and yet there is no actual control in life. It comes at us, it cares nothing for our pain or pleasures and moves on without regret or remorse. Just how are we supposed to deal with our helplessness in the universe? For some it is drugs or sex or food or cigarettes or religion or whatever. For the rest, I'm jealous of their ability not to succumb to the need to numb out.

Ah well, one day at a time.

6:38 a.m. - 2006-11-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora