terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Ah, the pernicious infuence of the cell phone. So many people wandering around yakking, yet I wonder if there is any more content to what they are saying? How many times have I been on the train coming home and someone calls another and says, "I'm at Metro Center now. I'll call when I get to Union Station." Unless these people are timing a robbery, I wonder how this is enhancing their communication?

Or the lovely woman on the train who had a loud personal conversation about the horrors of dealing with her mother. Really. I don't want to know about the awful boyfriends or irresponsibility with money. I doubt anyone else on the train did either. What ever happened to privacy? Dignity? Plain old decency? Maybe shame?

It would not surprise me if a new malady crept into the world. Let's call it "talkers tilt" for the way cell phone users angle their heads and hunch over a bit, as if they were actually creating a small space that no one else could intrude on.

8:01 a.m. - 2004-06-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora