terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've Decided to Buy

I'm more at peace with myself today; after a lot of fussing I've decided to go ahead and invest in a new property when the condo sells. I kind of wanted the freedom being in an apartment would give in terms of relocating, but the sensible adult says go for the better investment.

And the omens are good. I found out I'm getting a bonus this year (very welcome) and that I'm getting a bonus from last year as well. Seems there was an accounting error and I never received it, and never found out because I was traveling at the time it was announced last year. So I'll actually have some cash for my earnest money if I should make an offer on a new property.

It strikes me as very strange that the people who've come to look at my condo find it roomy when I'm feeling crowded out (one of the primary reasons for moving). Still, I'm grateful for the prosperity that is allowing me to do this.

And an observation on the local housing market (aside from it being a whirlwind). Most of the place I've looked at have pretentious place names, like "The Vista" which only overlooks more buildings of the same architecture or "Greenbelt Lake Village" which is two miles from Greenbelt Lake. Does anyone actually buy into these bogus names, or do they just offer a little soothing imagery to lure in frazzled buyers? I suppose a name like "Overpriced Shoddy Construction Acres" wouldn't sell.

8:56 a.m. - 2004-12-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora