terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got the Condo

Well, well, well, sometimes dreams do come true. This morning I decided to make an offer on a substandard property I saw last night. It needed a lot of work, but had possibilities, and I wasn't seeing anything else. But I did decide I had to view it in daylight before I committed.

So I contacted my stellar real estate agent team, had them set up an appointment, and dashed from work back to the 'burbs for one final look. I had enough time to hit the local Loew's and try to guesstimate what the most immediate needed upgrades would cost.

I was wandering around the replacement windows and doors in the kind of stupor reserved for the truly unhandy when my cell phone rang.

It was the male half of the team telling me, "Change of plan." My first assumption was that we had to delay the second viewing (bad because offers had to be in by 3:00 p.m. today). But, no, after much mysterious delay, the seller of the condo I looked at last week had wisely selected me to be the next owner.

A brief mad scramble ensued to get all the papers initialed before anyone could change their minds.

So now I'm much relieved not to have to look for a new home anymore, exceedingly happy to get the place that I really wanted, and stunned at the prospect of settling and moving in less than three weeks (two of which include major holidays and traveling to the other coast for a friend's wedding).

What fun. Good thing I've been collecting boxes.

Oh, and a very minor ray of hope on the job front. My employer may be forced to move our office in the next month or so, and maybe, just maybe, I'll get a quieter workspace. I can only hope.

Suddenly I'm listening intently for that other shoe.

2:26 p.m. - 2004-12-16
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora