terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Mind is Going

Where is my brain? This morning as I was doing my usual commute in the not usual really cold weather, I spaced suffciently to overshoot by two subway stops, then bolted off the train to try to catch the one going in the other direction, then realized I'd left my gloves back on the seat. And it is bitter, bitter cold out there.

In find I'm doing a lot of stupid stuff like that lately. Like forgetting to put the gas cap back on after filling the car and then driving down the highway and realilzing what that bumping noise is. Like forgetting to zip up after being in the bathroom. Like walking into a room, forgetting why I went there and trying to retrace my thinking, only to be distracted by something and then getting back to the original thing two hours later.

I know it is related to all the moving disruptions, but it worries me nonetheless. Even my obsessive list making doesn't seem to be helping. Am I such a creature of habit and structure that I fall apart when faced with change?

Oh well, I'll take a deep breath, and get on with it, one day at a time, one thing at a time. If I can remember it. ;-)

And a small side bar: I was listening to NPR this morning and they were talking about how the Iraqi elections are requiring that 1/4 of the candidates are women. Yeah, like they'd impose that here in the U.S.? It would be like what happened with the initiatives from the Small Business Administration when they tried to give incentives to women- and/or minority-owned businesses; the white males went out and found frontpersons so they could get the tax breaks and priorities for government contracts. Yes, a few people it was meant to help actually benefited, but abuses were common.

7:43 a.m. - 2004-12-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora