terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Post-holiday Shopping

I have been out in the post-holiday shopping world from necessity, and really, it wasn't too bad.

This morning I took down the tree and realized that three of my four strings of lights had either failed completely or had enough nonworking sockets that they needed replacing. (Please imagine my control-freak self turning the lights on for the tree with a sigh of contentment that transformed into the grinding of teeth every time I noticed a bulb that wasn't lit and couldn't be fixed.)

I have now replaced said faulty strings and added a bit to my holiday decorations. When wandering through the 1/2 price aisle I realized that next year (the gods willing, there are a few problems going into settlement) I shall have a mantle from which to hang my stockings (I'll have to get some stockings). So I bought some stocking hooks, and feel mightily pleased at the prospect, however distant.

And, speaking of distant holidays, while browsing the craft store for oddments I discovered, not only the Valentine's Day junk, but St. Patrick's Day as well. I know crafts people get an early start, but, yeesh. This is worse than the Christmas stuff appearing before Halloween. Is it only me that feels everthing that might have an iota of specialness is being milked for every ounce of commercial potential? I am so revolted and feel like a mark for every predator out there who thinks they can bilk me out of a cent.

Anway, on to New Years Day! Which this year might actually be something special.

3:56 p.m. - 2004-12-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora