terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Florence Day 3

Day 3 in Florence and I've shifted a bit from tourism to shopping. I've spent way too much on a cool leather jacket and bought a more reasonable pair of gloves. The experience was quite pleasant as they actually have professional store clerks here. Service is absolutely necessary to properly conduct business.

The jewelry stores are blinding in their displays. I was sore tempted to buy a coral necklace for my SCA outfits, but it really is the adornment of young girls not spinsters.

I found some fabric stores, but nothing I care to take home. I can't find ones that sell buttons or trim. As noted in the prior log, the stores are just too specialized to crossover to notions.

There are many interesting clothing stores, but they are way too fashionable for me to even dare step in the door.

This morning was spent at the Uffizi Gallery and Palazzo Vecchio. The Uffizi just has too much art to even begin to take in properly, and was overrun by the earlier mentioned Japanese tourists. The Palazzo was an exercise in frustration. Yes, they have some nice art and it was cool to see the chapel of Eleanora di Toledo (whose portraits by Bronzino are in the Uffizi). But there is also a lot of furniture, none of which is described or cataloged for the gift shop. Argh.

I think I've decided I don't like art, per se. I like information and what is conveyed in the art. I also wonder who really decides what is a masterpiece and what isn't. I was at the Lourve once, and did the lightning tour of the most famous works. The Venus de Milo is certainly lovely, but there was other sculpture I liked better. Maybe I just have no taste.

Anyway, today's observations are:

1. Florence is the city where I am most likely to sprain an ankle. The pavements are uneven, and when you open a door it is as likely to have a step up or down as not, and without warning. Also, dogs are popular and not cleaned up after, so one is frequently forced to make sudden course corrections.

2. I am so glad I don't live in a culture that requires one bring home cases full of gifts. I have observed at the hotel and airport how certain people seem to have 5 times the luggage I do, which is obviously stuffed with items to take home. I guess it is the blessing of living in a relatively non-corrupt society where displays of "respect" aren't required or being properous enough that one doesn't need to bring home that which cannot be obtained there or which one's relatives cannot afford themselves, but like for the sake of status.

3. Florence apparently does celebrate carnival from the evidence of confetti in the street and masks at a few vendors. Of course I'm sticking to the hotel in the evenings; I have neither the energy or inclination to go out by the end of the day.

Having a wonderful time, wish you were here.

1:29 p.m. - 2005-02-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora