terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Florence Day 5

Day 5 in Florence and I'm rapidly becoming a zombie. Lack of sleep is part of it, although I finally got my full eight hours last night, albeit in installments. Aching feet is another. Due to a constant low level of pain with everystep, touring is becoming something more of an endurance test. And I haven't even hit all the major attractions yet!

This morning was the Pitti Palace, and it was a pity, because most of the cool Renaissance stuff has been overwritten by Baroque and Roccoco decoration. Bleh. There's still a few good portraits, but not much else. Then a long walk to the chapel at Santa Maria de Carmine, with decoractons by Mosscario. Okay, but not really worth the trek. Although I was sidetracked into a jewelry story and bought a pair of moonstone earrings for my Mom. Or maybe me. Depends on if I see anything else for her. ;-)

And today's observations are:

1. I think some of my disorientation comes from the fact that there are relatively few straight lines or right angles in the city. One guidebooks says the old city was laid out in a grid on the Roman pattern. You couldn't prove it by me. And all the shops are wedged into weird spaces, so nothing is in line of sight, or rooms taper in strange ways.

2. It is almost impossible to get really hot tea or coffee here. Not that I'm complaining, it is a perfectly drinkable temperature. Which I guess is the point since most such refreshment is taken standing up at bars where you just drop in for a moment.

3. I have yet to quite figure out lunchtime. The guidebooks say it is generally the main meal of the day, but as far as I can tell, everyone grabs a panini and runs. Few seem to be sitting in the trattoria unless it is for a drink and a sweet, not a meal. I feel like a dope wanting to actually have two courses, but if you are hungry enough, social nicities recede.

Well, on to the next thing, which is the above mentioned lunch and on to the Museum of the History of Science, which actually only has displays through the 1800's. If my feet hold out that long.

Ciao.

12:02 p.m. - 2005-02-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora