terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Florence Day 6

Day 6 in Florence where Florence has exhausted me, whereas I have yet to exhaust Florence.

If you asked me last night what was the coolest thing I had seen, it had to be the display in the Science History Museum of the display of English navigation instruments that explained that Robert Dudley -- son of THE Earl of Leicester -- had brought them to Italy and become a shipbuilder for the Medicis and later a close confidante.

By the time I got back to the hotel I was desperatley tired and had blisters on my feet. My digestive tract was mightily protesting the abuse of my food allergies. I tried calling Air France to see if I could come home today instead of tomorrow. Their office was closed. I was desolated, but today I am quite happy that it turned out the way it did.

This morning I dosed on ibuprofen, bandaged the blisters and trucked off to see the Bargello. Oh My God. There's a condition that strikes tourists to Florence from time-to-time called "Stenghalismo" after the 19th C writer who passed out after seeing the art in one of the churches. The Bargello almost had that effect on me.

Forget the sculptures by Michelangelo and Donetello. The palce has some of the most famous ivory carvings from the Middle Ages (think the Castle of Love tournament). It has cassoni galore. It has famous Frankish jewelry. It has cool armor. It has a massive collection of legal seals. And, blessedly, the bookstore had catalogs of the seal collection, of which I bought three (civil and a two part private, skipping the church). They totalled about 30 pounds and I dragged them breathlessly back to the hotel.

Now I have no idea how I will get all this in my suitcase along with the leather jacket and stylin' cotton suit from one of the department stores (think H&M for adults). I may have to abandon some of my underwear and socks.

Anyway, I just had lunch at one of the outdoor restaurants. (It is warm as spring and sunny today. In fact the weather has been quite cooperative all week; cool and clear.) I have discovered I am not immune to the charm of Italian men who lure me into buying pricey jackets and lure me into eating at their restaurants to give them big tips. ;-) They are *really* good at making you feel like there is no one else in the world they'd rather present with the fine products of their respective businesses. To give credit, the female shopkeepers have also been unfailingly helpful.

I'm now off to make one more circuit of the open air market, pick up a panini and piece of fruit for dinner, then back to the hotel to read and put up my aching feet. I'd love to get in a little more sightseeing, but have reached my limit. It's been great, but I long for my own bed, to see the cat, and share a few tales with my nearest and dearest.

Home. It is pretty good here, but home is the best place on earth.

Arreviderci.

1:21 p.m. - 2003-02-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora