terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wondering About Race and Light Bulbs

One of those overactive brain observations in life; this week I brought home the Rather Large and Expensive Lamps, and of course they require new bulbs. (The gods be thanked they both work, but the store failed to give me the globe for the torchiere, so I have to go back yet again.)

Anyway, I live in an African-American majority area. When I bought the condo I went around replacing all the light bulbs because the prior owner prefered the "crystal clear" style, and I like "soft white" or "reveal" lighting. I didn't think much about it at the time.

I normally patronize the Home Depot over in the next town which is a college town and therefore more racially diverse (this is purely out of habit since it predates the Lowe's). They have *lot* of lighting options. But today my brain said, "The Lowe's is a bit closer and gas is expensive," and I thought this sensible, so off I went. And they had almost no "soft white" bulbs and lots of "crystal clear."

So now I'm wondering if it is one of those small cultural gaps between people of color and the pigment-challenged such as myself? To prefer brighter lighting? And it is totally irrelevant, yet I do wonder in my strange brain way.

9:21 p.m. - 2005-03-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora