terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grumping about Work and Laurels

I have sent my boss's boss a long e-mail trying to explain that the reason I haven't been able to sucessfully complete a project he keeps nagging me about is that he never told anyone that I as actually in charge of the project (including me) and that the failure to implement even the most basis project management protocols means that only delays and confusion will ensue.

My immediate boss takes the position that the only way to let people know I'm in charge is to just tell them so and then act. That might be ok except that the company for which I work is trying to integrate some recent acquisitions, one of which is involved in this project, and that the people involved are not all located in the U.S., and that no one in the company actually cares about procedures or standards.

So I just want it on record that I'm not performing because I can't under the circumstances. Not that that will help. This bunch is used to miracles being performed in the black box of the Washington, DC bureau.

Well, it only took me 15 months to convince the company to switch from Lotus to Excel. Perhaps my powers of persuasion will eventually win.

I just hope I was effective rather than whiny.

Speaking of which, I'm ready to resign from the discussion group for Atlantian Laurels. Is it just me, or do *way* too many people dump their personal issues there? I hope I'm not using the Laurel list to air my personal grievences and neediness. At least not to *that* extent.

11:45 a.m. - 2005-03-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora