terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Brain Activity

You're only going to get some random brain activity today.

My Palm Zire has died. This is really annoying. It is one of those items you carry with you, think is generally worthless, and then realize how much you depend on having it there. I'm thinking of splurging on the model that has the built-in phone and thus reducing the number of devices I carry around.

The view from my windows actually has a touch of green to it; quite welcome on the first day of spring. I've been cursing the cold morning commute a *lot* lately. Yet spring is not nearly so welcome now that I've developed seasonal allergies. It used to be vaguely amusing to fail to immediately recognize my car because of the yellow-gray film of pollen coating it. Now I know the true suffering of sinus headaches from personal experience. Getting old stinks except that it beats the alternative. And to all of you who have allergies, I'm sorry I did not fully appreciate your agony.

I'm having my first real guest at the new condo today. There is veggie beef soup simmering on the stove, there are avacados waiting to mashed into guacamole, and a guest shall be here for lunch, conversation and videos. Not the height of wild living, I grant you, but it gives me a warm cozy feeling.

Next Sunday I am to get my first lesson in oil painting. This week I am trying to figure out what I want to paint. Actually, not quite true. I found a hexagram from the I Ching (#11, Ta or Peace) that I want to do in some sort of abstract. But how to take it from my imagination to two dimensions? I've dragged out my sketch book and prismacolor crayons and am trying various ideas. Nothing has clicked so far. Part of the problem is that while I am not entirely without talent, I am nearly without training and I know what a decent artist can do. Who am I to think I can fill the 30 inch x 40 inch canvas with something worth displaying in my home? But the notion that I really want something of my own art hanging here has taken hold. What's the worst that could happen? I waste a canvas and poor Dan's time.

And, finally, I'm getting back to writing up my class notes intended for February University. "Knighthood Cradle to Grave" is shaping up nicely. Wonderful Keilyn has used the power of being a graduate student to get an interlibrary loan of a book I could not otherwise find, so the class on anchorites may actually happen one of these days.

Now that I think on it, there is much study and writing to be done between now and the end of May when I start remedial math. Bleh.

9:01 a.m. - 2005-03-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora