terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Signs of Spring

My favorite signs of spring, other than allergies, are when strawberries become plentiful and cheap at the grocery store, as do tender little asparagas shoots, and for a brief month or so one can get moros or blood oranges.

When I was a child living in Germany, this was a staple of the seasonal fruits. I expect it has something to do with Easter and the Passion, and all that, but I think we were far more excited about the novelty of getting those nice juicy oranges from Africa with the red streaks in the fruit.

I can't tell if they are actually better than any other orange any more, I just know that when I see them, I have to buy a couple, even at an outrageous price. For the longest time you couldn't find them except in the odd speciality store; now the regular grocery carries them.

It was rather like gummi bears. When we first got back from Germany no one in the U.S. knew about them and we missed them terribly. Mom would occasionally find a couple of bags at the Post Exchange, and then we'd torture ourselves trying to make those yummy little candies last at least a few days. Nowadays they're common.

I wonder if it is due to returning military who had to have their foreign treats?

Oh, yes, and I did see a robin the other day. I'm comforted that the worst of winter is over.

11:03 a.m. - 2005-03-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora