terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Mostly Wasted Sunday

Yesterday was not the productive/artistic day I'd hoped for, but of course it is only my fault that that didn't happen. The switch to daylight saving time always leaves me feeling a bit off and I was wearied from the day in the rain and the muck at Coronation the day before.

I allowed myself to be distracted by mud that needed to be washed out of garb, and other minor housely stuff. And I went off to see "Sin City" since the reviews were intriguing. I don't know whether I'd recommend it or not. Definitely violent both physically and mentally, but it has a certain hard-bitten appeal; like pulp fiction and film noir reduced to the most basic archetypes. I never read the graphic novels, but I understand it to be true to the original. It is one of those things that is done exceptionally well, but should it be done at all? Beyond me. It is powerful and has some great performances. At least I didn't leave the theater feeling as manipulated as I did after "Kill Bill" (both volumes). I did however feel my usual rant coming on when a nice young couple walked in with their lovely twin daughters who looked about three years old. Honestly, have parents so little selflessness that they can't forgo an adult movie until they can get a babysitter? I was shocked and appalled.

Speaking of which, a circuit of the local mall tells me the clothing industry has nothing but contempt for taste. This year's spring fashions are so astonishingly ugly I wonder that they will sell a stitch. Ah well, I'm not the consumer they are trying to reach. I'm fortunate I can hit the more upscale places, although a cruise through Nordstrom's on Friday wasn't much better.

10:29 a.m. - 2005-04-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora