terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Less Than Great Day

Have you ever had one of those days when you are just Not Right (TM)? When you're not exactly sick, but neither are you well? When your mood is black and childish and you are unfit for human company? I was having an intense one of those yesterday. I'm still having it today, but at least I feel a little more capable of dealing with it.

I left work early yesterday, basically came home and went to bed for three hours, then spent the rest of the day watching Firefly episodes. I wouldn't exactly call it an inspirational experience, but it did remind me that I haven't got it so bad. And it did keep me from answering a few work e-mails with more candor and self-centeredness than would be good for my continued employment prospects.

BTW, my bess tells me that in about 3 weeks the company will be making some major identity changes and that things will be better from my viewpoint of product management. I wait with bated breath. No I don't. I have not the least doubt that I will have only a marginal role in any changes, and that as usual no one will give my opinions more than passing credence, and then later they will get my good ideas for themselves. Grrr. Gotta get out of this feeling overlooked and ill-used attitude. It is not wholly true, and it is as much my fault as anyone else's.

A morning at home "sick" as given me a little time to sort through some mail, and this at least has brought something to cheer me. I read the catalog from UMUC and if I understand the placement for math classes correctly, the fact that I successfully completed MATH 105 many years ago means that I don't have to take the first of the two remedial math classes I thought I did, and if I register for the second match class I don't even have to take the placement test. So I've dropped the MATH 009 and added MATH 012 and I'm hoping for the best. At least this would shorten the ordeal by a semester, and I might even be able to graduate in little more than a year. And that would be a Good Thing (TM).

This was all much easier to type than it would have been half an hour ago. I just gave the keyboard -- which had been less than responsive recently -- a good cleaning. Between the cat's hair and mine it is little wonder the keys weren't bouncing the way they should.

8:51 a.m. - 2005-04-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora