terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Computer Karma Stinks

Is it a skylight when it is the wee hours of the morning and no light is to be had? I'm sitting in Dog's Nest because I can't sleep and feel lousy. I have most of the week.

I've always had problems sleeping, but this is getting ridculous. Normally I wake up after a few hours, toss and turn for a while, then manage a few more hours. Lately the few more hours aren't happening until near when the alarm goes off.

My older sister informs me that, hey, this is what happens during menopause. If so, I'm in serious trouble because I can't concentrate on anything and am turning into a really whiny brat at work. Sleep aids aren't much help because they work the first night (I sleep five hours at a stretch rather than three), then lose effectiveness if taken again before three or four days have passed; my dear old drug addict brain at work.

I've been trying to use the awake time productively tonight, i.e. getting my scanner to work again. It ceased scanning a couple of months ago but I haven't had a reason to use it, so I let it be. The nice tech people at HP are e-mailing me procedures to try, but nothing is working. Everything says it is fine, but no scan happens. Maybe I need to replace the USB cable? Off to Staples in the morning where I need to return the new speakers that aren't working either (the old ones did, just were incredibly tinny). My computer karma stinks right now.

P.S. a note from later this morning; I switched USB cables since it suddenly occured to me that the new HP printer has the same type of cable. Voila! it works. However, mysteriously the "bad" cable is working for the new printer. The ways of computers are truly beyond my ability to comprehend.

1:27 a.m. - 2005-04-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora