terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back from the Hospital

I'm back from spending 23 hours in the local hospital sorting out whether I was having heart problems or bad indigestion. Fortunately for me it came down to some minor gastric bleeding that should be not problem to fix. And my cholesterol is a bit high, but my only real risk factor for the other set of ills.

It has, however, convinced me that I never want to again be in a coronary unit at a hospital. You would think that a floor of desperately ill people would be a place of quiet and rest, but I got hardly a wink of sleep between the beeping of the heart monitor, the constant coming in and out of the room by technicians and the attendent turning on of very bright ceiling lights, being regularly poked and prodded, being located across from the nurses's station with a lot of loud talk and a radio playing, and the horrible hacking cough of the woman with whom I shared the room (who also BE-LEEVES in JEEZUS and likes to talk, although she was a very sweet person). Oh, and I was cold. This comes very close to the torments of Hades for me and I could have happily committed foul crimes for a pair of decent earplugs.

On the plus side, the staff seemed competent and I was well taken care of in the emergency room, when I finally got fed in the morning the food was decent (again the gods be thanked because I'd scare had a bite since lunch the day before), and every doctor, nurse and technician kept looking at my birthdate on my chart and saying how young I look (seriously, it started with the triage nurse and didn't end until I saw the discharge nurse); gotta keep the new skin care routine.

Anyway, I got home this afternoon and showered and had a long nap. I'm feeling much more human and perhaps a little foolish for going off to the ER, but then if one is having heart attack symptoms, 'tis better to err on the side of safety. It will take a couple of days for the needle bruises to fade, but at least I have the comfort of knowing I'm not going to keel over. What fun.

7:22 p.m. - 2005-04-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora