terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looking Inwards, Literally

When one says one has looked inward, it usually involves a certain amount of internal examination of the mind content variety. Today I got to look inward literally during an abdominal ultrasound.

It is way cool to see your aorta pulsing healthily in real time on television. As to the condition of my gall bladder and bile ducts, liver, kidneys and spleen, I have no idea if all is working in accordance with nature's plan or not. It hardly matters, because the point is that I'm in awe about the ability of technology to reveal so much of my internals without cutting me open. The technician never made any shocked faces or tisking sounds, so I assume all well, or at least not dire. Which is a vague disappointment because I'd really like to avoid the next level of tests to determine why I've got this funny pain in my chest.

Today has been not exactly productive, but somewhat purposeful. I started the hexagram painting for my sister (#61, Inner Truth, which is what she named her T'ai Chi sword). I'm not displeased so far, but believe I have discovered that I like working on larger canvases. Still I want to experiment with some different sizes and proportions, just for fun and variety.

And I got a bit of patio furniture at Target. I'd looked at one set of two fake wicker chairs and a table a week or two ago, and went back today to find they'd dropped the price $30, which paid for the extra cushions; the mathematics of girl shopping.

Now if only I could get on to something productive, like writing my class notes for June Unversity. Have you looked at the calendar lately? We're past mid-April already. Aiyee!

4:07 p.m. - 2005-04-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora