terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Interesting Tuesday

Yesterday was kind of interesting.

I was in Chinatown when my peculiar curse operated again. A well-dressed Asian woman came up and asked me directions in spite of other Asians being around. Why is it that in the SCA I'm considered scary and on the street I look like I know exactly where I am and exactly where you need to go?

I went to a book tour lecture for "The Great Mortality" about the plague in the 14th century. The speaker was interesting and entertaining, but surprisingly (or not) I already knew most of the basics about his talk. I guess it is the problem of going to a lecture for a general audience when you have a certain amount of specialized knowledge. Oh well. It was certainly not a waste of time. The other interesting part was to realize that I've moved into the demographic of single women of a certain age and income who attend cultural events. Sad and comforting at the same time.

Prior to the lecture and visit to Chinatown, I buzzed through the local Barnes and Noble to amuse myself for a bit. There I discovered that Star Wars nerds have lasted for 30 years and managed to renew themselves unto another generation. Again, sad and comforting. At least all the fads of my youth have not gone.

I also made abundant use of my Smithsonian Resident Associate membership (blessings be upon KnitGeek and Finlaech for the gift). I've registered for a one-day seminar on the late medieval fascination with witches, a six-week series about writing murder mysteries and an evening lecture on early Elizabethan drama. Much fun (so to speak) is in store.

6:46 a.m. - 2005-04-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora